happy birthday, america

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fourth of July has always been one of my favorite days of summer. The 4th always includes a family picnic and sparklers, and ends with a trip to the park to watch a fireworks show. It’s also an excuse to get all dolled up in red, white or blue and a chance to eat my absolute favorite, warm apple pie with vanilla ice cream!

This year we had family over at our house for the picnic. Mom went above and beyond making everything look cute and festive. I was excited to see my baby cousin, Ava, who was wearing the outfit I bought her from Paris! Can you say red, white and cute?!

I thought I would try something new and instead of baking Reese’s filled brownies, like I have every 4th of July in the past, I decided to make Lemon Blueberry Cheesecake Bars (recipe found here). I have to admit, they were delicious… even with forgetting to add one of the ingredients! Whoops. I also made refreshing rainbow sherbert punch for the picnic.

While it wasn’t very sunny in the morning, and the sky kept threatening us with baby rain showers here and there, it ended up being a beautiful day. We sat outside on the patio to eat and enjoyed the warm summer weather. Lindsey’s boyfriend, Gary, brought over a few fireworks and the biggest sparklers I have ever seen!

That night, Lauren and I went to Packard Park to watch the fireworks show! Tip for next year: don’t sit in front of the huge tree that blocks about 90% of the fireworks from your sight. Regardless, we loved watching the sky light up and enjoyed the fireworks big enough to make it over the tops of the tall trees. After fireworks, I went with my best friend Olivia (who is visiting from South Carolina!!!) to our friend’s house for a 4th of July party.

I can’t believe 4th of July has now passed. Summer is flying by! However, it was a great day celebrating with friends and family. Happy Birthday, America!

Dear Hannah...

