sister stylist

So what’s better than having a sister who is not only your best friend, but also an amazingly creative stylist? Can’t think of anything? Don’t feel bad, me either. Sharing genes and sharing closets… what a great pair.

From “trend reports” to “six ways to style…” posts, if you’re looking for a fresh, charming blog, follow Lauren Ashley!

lauren ashley

English teacher by day, blogger by night, sister support system 24/7: get to know Lauren!

  • Why did you start blogging?

Well, I have a few favorite blogs that I read daily. These bloggers have provided me with countless smiles and inspiration. I thought my own blog could do the same for someone else. My goal is for my blog to make someone else’s day. Perhaps someone is searching for the perfect pair of rain boots, and they find them on my blog! I also love to play stylist with my friends and family. My blog lets me do this with more than those who know me personally.

  • Who are your style inspirations?

Hmm… judging by my “My Style” Pinterest board, I would say Olivia Palermo, Alexandra Pereira, who writes Lovely Pepa, and Jessie Chanes, who writes Seams for a Desire. I am also inspired by characters. I love Blair Waldorf’s style (Gossip Girl) and can get away with most of her outfits in the classroom. I love Serena Van der Woodsen’s style (Gossip Girl) for outside the classroom and Zoe Hart’s style on Hart of Dixie.

  • Lucky you! You won a $10,000 shopping spree! Which stylist are you taking along to help pick out the most major outfits?

Brad Goreski. He works with Jessica Alba and I don’t think I’ve seen her “get it wrong” once. Besides admiring his talent for creating red carpet looks, I think Brad would be SO fun to shop with. I watch his show, “It’s a Brad, Brad World,” and he is so funny! He is always making his team laugh and he would make the perfect shopping partner. Rachel Zoe and Erin Walsh (Kerry Washington’s stylist) are close seconds.

  • Do you have a go-to piece?

Recently I have been wondering if there is a ‘Denim Shirtaholics Anonymous’ group I can join. A denim shirt goes with literally everything! It is such an easy piece to mix and match. You can dress it up or down.

  • If you could have any celebrity’s closet for a week, who’s would you pick?

Omgoodness! Really?! I have no idea! Can I narrow it down to five? :) In no particular order… Blake Lively, Jessica Alba, Kerry Washington (for red carpets), Olivia Palermo, Rachel Bilson.

  • What would be your dream TV show to style for?

Even though Gossip Girl went off the air last year, I still constantly look at Blair and Serena’s outfits for inspiration. I pretty much watched the show for the fashion. The costume designer, Eric Daman, must have been in stylist heaven. The characters were always attending fabulous parties, balls and events, giving Daman tons of opportunities to dress them in over-the-top ensembles.

  • What are your favorite current or upcoming trends?
  1. Black & white (or cream)
  2. Cuffed boyfriend jeans with booties
  3. Leather
  4. Slouchy pants
  5. Wide-brim hats
  6. Wrap coats

For weekly inspiration, follow Lauren on Pinterest and check out her blog here!

One response to “sister stylist

Dear Hannah...

