agencies & advice

On Tuesday, November 19, I had the opportunity to spend the morning on the fast-paced, exhilarating set of Fox 8 News, as a member of the University of Mount Union’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). Read about our experience here!

The second half of our day was not as invigorating, but just as valuable as we visited Fahlgren Mortine, an independent marketing and communication agency.

We met with Senior Vice President and Managing Director Christy Bykowski, Vice President Allen Pfenninger, Senior Account Executive Melissa Carney and Associate Creative Director Carrie Morris. The staff gave us a presentation on the company, providing us with a much better picture of what a communication agency actually does.

The most important thing I took away from the trip to Fahlgren Mortine was the general advice that they gave us.

  • Be open-minded when it comes to jobs: As a senior, I have a perfect picture of exactly what type of job I hope to obtain upon graduation. While looking for positions to apply for, I often pass over jobs that seem unglamorous or “too mundane.” However, it is important to have an open mind, get your foot in the door and gain experience wherever you can, in order to then reach your dream job later on down the road.
  • Write, write, write: As a communication student, it is extremely important to write daily. Writing samples are necessary for your portfolio and you must be prepared to show your best work.
  • Get an internship: Internships give you an immense amount of experience and set you apart from other students applying for the same position. Be willing to do the grunt work as well as high-level tasks.
  • Perfect your resume: Your resume is a writing sample, so typos are unacceptable. Your resume should be to the point, reveal how qualified you are and set you apart from everyone else. You need to sell yourself with your resume.

Overall, visiting Fox 8 and Fahlgren Mortine left me extremely excited for the “real world.” While I love Mount Union, I am anxious to graduate and use everything that I have learned over the past four years. My professors have prepared me to the best of their abilities, my experiences have provided me with valuable skills and now I am ready to work in the field that I love.

Do you have any advice to offer up-and-coming graduates? What are your tips for seniors seeking employment? Leave your comments below!

Dear Hannah...

