college post-tips

Today I start the last semester of my undergraduate career. Time out. What?! I thought time machines weren’t invented yet, but clearly I was wrong as I’m pretty sure I just started yesterday. Since I’ll be a college graduate in 15 short weeks, I thought it would be helpful to provide a list of tips that I wish I had known along the way.

post tips

  • Be you: For me, that meant accepting that I’m much more comfortable cuddled on the couch on a Friday night with a bowl of ice cream and my favorite chick flick instead of at the frat house rager down the street. It’s OK to not fit into the “college student” mold and be different. If you’d rather be checking out wedding blogs instead of taking shots at the college bar (guilty), don’t feel like you don’t belong. You’re just being you!
  • Make connections: Talk to your peers, ask professors for advice, network with professionals in your field. This could lead to career opportunities down the road.
  • Save your work: You’ve spent hours upon hours working on essays, projects and presentations, so save your work along the way! Trust me, you will eventually need the essay you wrote freshman year. When you are asked to create a portfolio senior year, you will be able to pull things from your files easily.
  • Blog: Creating a blog is a great way to show your talent to potential employers. I love blogging because it allows me to be creative and write about what I love. It is also a great way to document memories.
  • Intern: Internships are such a great way to get a glimpse of the job industry you are interested in. My internship, at Something New Events, showed me that event planning isn’t all glitz and glamour, but takes a lot of hard work, late hours, manual labor and dependability. I learned so much from my experience that will help me incredibly in my career.
  • Get more involved in less: Instead of joining every organization on campus, choose two or three and fully commit! Leadership positions look great on resumes, but make sure you have the time and heart to make an impact.
  • Stress less, smile more: At the end of the day, if you know that you did the best you could, that’s all that matters. It will all be ok, I promise. Take a deep breath, light some candles and reward yourself with an Oreo milkshake for all of your hard work.
  • Take classes just for fun: I have always been so incredibly interested in psychology, but do not necessarily see myself pursuing a career in the field. I had some wiggle room with my schedule so I signed up for a few psych. classes, which turned out to be my favorite and most intriguing classes in all four years.
  • Travel: Please, please, please take every travel opportunity possible. Studying abroad changed my perspective and my life. When surrounded by a different culture, you will learn more about the world, and yourself, in one week than you would in an entire semester back home.
Dear Hannah...

