guatemala: day 4

March 4: Day 4

I woke up with the worst sunburn and blisters on my hands, but with such a great feeling. All the hard work is worth it knowing how happy we’re making these families. We began building more layers of the wall today at the house and I can’t wait to see our progress at the end of the week.

I am getting better with my Spanish and I love, love, love talking to Camilla. Today she told me “You can sleep here tonight, with me!” She’s so cute and happy with her life, playing with straws and dirt piles and anything she can find lying around.

I had my first tamale for lunch today! It was pretty good. I like the you are trying everything at least once rule I created for myself. When you’re somewhere new, I feel like it’s important to put yourself entirely in that place – eating the traditional food, speaking the language, learning about the people and their culture.

We went to a women’s weaving cooperative after work yesterday and a coffee farm today. The women weave everything by hand and the process for one item can take 15 hours! To get different colors, the women use fruits, vegetables and plants, such as carrots, coffee beans and different types of flowers. The women are so proud of their work.

The coffee farm surprised me because I saw that the coffee bean is actually inside something that looks like a baby grape! I never would have guessed. We all got to sample the coffee and although I hate coffee, I felt like I couldn’t pass up the experience. Yuck, yuck, yuck! But… I’m still glad I tried it. When in Guatemala, right? After the coffee farm, we all got to take a ride in a tuk tuk back to the hotel! The driver blared Justin Bieber’s “Somebody to Love” on repeat and found it quite amusing.

The views here are absolutely unbelievable. Even the bumpy rides in the back of the pick up truck to and from work, that give you numerous hip bruises, are worth it because of the gorgeous lake and mountains. It’s crazy that there’s so much beauty in a place of so much poverty, both in the landscape and in the people. It’s something I wasn’t expecting.

Dear Hannah...

